Links | Site Map | Search | Contact

The Ministry Press Office N.C.C. for Border Control, Immigration and Asylum European and Development Programs Division EEA Grants European Internal Security Fund Files


Financial Mechanism(FMΟ) of the European Economic Area (EEA) Print E-mail

Welcome to the website of the Financial Mechanism(FMΟ) of the European Economic Area (EEA).The Financial Mechanismof the EEA was established in the framework of the EEA and constitutes its institutional part since 1994. Themembersstates of the EEA are the Kingdom of Norway, the principality of Lichtenstein, the Republic of Iceland and the 28 member states of the European Union.The EEA was established on 1 January 1994 following an agreement between the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and the EU's predecessor, the European Economic Community (EEC).

The overall objectives of the EEA Financial Mechanism 2009-2014 are to contribute to the reduction of economic and social disparities in the European Economic Area and to the strengthening of bilateral relations between the Donor States (Norway, Iceland, Lichtenstein) and the16 Beneficiary States through financial contribution in priority sectors as:

1. Environmental protection and management

2. Climate change an renewable energy

3. Civil society

4. Human and social Development and

5. Protecting cultural heritage


Concerning the current Programming Period 2009-2014 Greece as Beneficiary State through the program GR-06 with title “Capacity building of National Asylum and Migration Management Systems” targets on the upgrade of the hospitality infrastructures and the efficient management of the rising migratory flows. According to the EEA Grants Regulation the Norwegian Directorate of Immigration (UDI) has been defined as Donor Programme partner in order to offer knowledge for the preparation and the implementation of theprogramme.

(Read more)…

The Ministry Press Releases | Files

Links | Site Map | Search | Contact

Web Design & Web Development Ελληνική Εταιρεία Διαδικτύου